Papertrey Ink June blog hop

I wasn’t to inspired by this months photo challenge. I think it was the color combination- not one of my favorites.

20120624-231737.jpg

Though there were many things I could see beyond the photo, I even attempted several different things, but couldn’t finish them. Hopefully in the next few days I’ll feel more inspired.

However, I am very satisfied with the one thing I DID manage to finish. I hope you are too! I based my design on the round pillow with the layers and the flower on top.

20120624-205721.jpg

20120624-232026.jpg

I stamped a generic sentiment. Over top of the beautiful blossoms flower image. The sentiment is from Hello, Friend. It reads: “Sending a handful of cheer your way in the hope that you’ll have a most beautiful day.” The flower was stamped with Summer Sunrise (which matches Summer Lovin’ Sun perfectly!)

Not sure why, but fall colors are SCREAMING my name. One of my best girlfriends is getting married September 21st, so fall is on my brain. I can’t wait for the wedding!


Step 1.) cut flowers and leaves from felt. I used the Frilly Flowers Die Collection.

20120624-234551.jpg

Step 2.) pick a variety of Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays. Including Flat Fabio’s and Starburst Stains. I choose My Mojito Green, Rizzo’s Rowdy Red*, Tears on my Pillow Tangerine*, Summer Lovin’ Sun, Pretty in Pink Pink. *coming soon.

20120624-232819.jpg

Step 3.) spray each piece individually and heat dry. (I’m impatient. Allowing felt time to dry would take, what would feel like, an eternity.) Just remember to hold the heat tool a safe distance from the felt so it doesn’t catch fire. 😉

20120624-234736.jpg

Step 4.) assemble flowers in desired order and stick a straight pin through the center. If everything looks great, simply clip the pointy part of the pin and using needle nose pliers curl the straight pin towards the felt piece. This will help “lock” everything in place.

20120624-234914.jpg

If you wanted, you could even use embossing powder or alcohol based makers to alter the color of the straight pins head to match your embellishment.

20120624-233658.jpg

I love the way this flower turned out, and can’t wait to make a few more to add to my girls headbands!

I hope you’re feeling inspired! Thanks for stopping by!

12 thoughts on “Papertrey Ink June blog hop

  1. This is gorgeous!!! I’m coming from Crafty Goodies to answer your question or leave you an explanation:) The front of my bottle is stained, I can’t read what it is, that is why I turned it to the back. I said Glossy accents because it works great too!! Thanks for stopping by today!!:):):)

Leave a Reply

