Picking Strawberry video tutorial.

It’s only appropriate to greet you on a Friday with a big, HUGE… TGIF! And let me tell you, I’m so glad it’s Friday! I was hoping to have this post up MUCH earlier today, however my computer didn’t like working so hard, so early in the morning. So here’s to saving, and more often!

Anyways, I had a brilliant idea, and if you follow me on Twitter, then you may have already seen this photo that I shared with Ikea, if not, no worries, it’s below!

I made the long drive to Ikea earlier this week and picked up a few things. I grabbed a Lazy Susan and some tin buckets. Then, I put a hole in the bottom of each bucket and used a screw to attach them to the Lazy Susan. Once attached, I filled them with markers! It’s not the most ideal solution to marker heaven, but for now, it works perfect!

I made a new video for today- in the video I’m using Flourishes Picking Strawberries clear stamp set. I used a combination of Pro and FlexMarkers which are ‘noted’ in the video. (Lots of red and green!)

The technique I used to color this image isn’t new- it’s called tip to tip blending, and is something I learned when I began using my Copics. However, you’ll see in the video how simple tip to tip blending is with Letraset markers.

I hope you’ll give this technique a try, it’s really simple! Just remember to clean your blender off after each use, or you may end up with a color you weren’t expecting!

Now for the winner of the FlexMarker giveaway!

Luz, please email ( jessica@canyoupixelthis.com ) me with your mailing address and your choice of a FlexMarker 12 pack!

We’re off to see the Lorax! Looks like it’ll be great fun for the kids! (And DH has never heard of the Lorax, can you believe that?!)

6 thoughts on “Picking Strawberry video tutorial.

  1. Congrats, Luz!! That is an awesome prize!!
    Jessica, I love your card….I can’t wait to watch the video! The colors and the design are fab!!

  2. Amazing video. I am so very interested in these markers. I was wondering what type of paper and ink you used for this type of coloring. Your card is beautiful and you used my favorite Flourishes stamp. 🙂 Any help you could give me would be appreciated.

    1. Hi Dawn! Thanks for your interest. Were you able to watch the video by chance? I used Memento, in Tuxedo Black. I use Finch Fine Color Copy paper with all of my alcohol inks. 🙂

  3. Hi Jessica! I found your blog through Tiffany’s Doodles! I love your idea with the lazy susan!! I Just took mine off our table bc it doesn’t match anymore and wondered what I could do with it!! Thanks for the idea!!! Also, love your card to, can’t wait to watch the video. I’m now a subscriber and look fwd to seeing more!

Leave a Reply

