Altered Frame Pictorial.

I’m pretty excited for this little project. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out… or if it would turn out! I’ve been in a bit of a rut lately, so much going on at home, and it seems difficult to think about, or even concentrate on crafting.

When I fall into these types of ruts, I find myself cleaning ridiculous amounts. (Wait till you see all the scrappy stuff I have to rehome!) Anyways, I was working in the garage, and found this frame, and thought I’d see what I could do with it.

My husband is a firm believer in sanding. Everything. Before. Painting.
Drives me crazy, but I did it, because I didn’t want to half ass it!
I sanded the heck out of it!

Then I painted it with Gesso.

I wanted to cover the frame in Lindy’s Stamp Gang’s starburst stains.
I used: Witch’s Potion Purple and Passionate Plum.

Once dry, I stamped the large background stamp (Classic Fabric Design) onto the frame using StazOn.

After the frame was stamped, I covered it in Crystal Lacquer. I did this for a few reasons.
Crystal Lacquer is not only a great adhesive, but it’s also a great sealant.

I also like the raised finish.

While the Crystal Lacquer was still wet,
I sprinkled some German Glitter Glass onto parts of the frame.
I used orange, purple and black.

While I waited for this to dry, I put my daughter to work, painting the white mat!
I (or she…) used: Tiger Lily Red Orange and Glory of the Sea Gold.

While I waited for that to dry, I cut the pictures from Graphic 45’s Wizard of Oz line.

I decided to add this frame into the Altered Alice challenge.

Here are a few other frames I have altered. January, February. And one from April.

It’s safe to say, I love picture frames! I have another really fun frame that I recently realized I haven’t shared yet. I’ll share that soon. But, tomorrow… a card for The Pixie Cottage!!

4 thoughts on “Altered Frame Pictorial.

  1. Thanks so much for playing along with The Altered Alice! It was fun to read the details of how this was altered, and it certainly does twinkle and shine! Tell your daughter the mat is brilliant! Great project!

Leave a Reply

