08.11.11

I used The Pink Elephant challenge sketch from last week to make my card for the Pixie Dust Studio challenge this week. Don’t forget to check out the challenge… it’s boy themed!

Here’s the sketch…

And here’s my card…

I used Pixie Dust Studio’s image Walter and His Pup. Isn’t it an adorable image?

I used Crystal Lacquer on the goggles to give them some life. The teeny tiny little tip that attaches to the Crystal Lacquer helps me to be more precise, so I’m not getting lacquer where I don’t want it.

Here is my card for the Heart Song challenge this week, which is back to school or circles. Since we homeschool, I thought circles may be a little more appropriate. I used the negative of an image I previously cut. Then I cut out the cupcake, and adhered it with foam squares. I used my white pen to draw a circle around the cupcake. Tied on the ribbon, added the bling, and viola! 🙂

Copics used: E41, 44, 47, BG70, 72, 75, YG61, 67, R81, 83, 85

I’m also participating in Helmars August Challenge. Which also uses a sketch…

Here’s my take…

I couldn’t bring myself to cut off the “100 days of Summer” strip- we’re 38+ days of 100+ degree weather. It felt right leaving it on!

The journaling reads: “You have such an infectious smile, those who see you smile, smile with you! May you always be this sweet and innocent.”

I had so many layers of paper, I didn’t want to put the picture directly on the page, so I used foam squares to pop the photo up. I like to use a little bit of 450 on the foam dots to ensure they ‘stick’. The trick is using LESS.

I also used the foam squares on the arrow. I like the dimension.

We’re off to Lego Land Discovery Center. I hope it’s worth the money, the wait, and… the crowd!

Happy almost Friday my friends!

8 thoughts on “08.11.11

  1. Oooh, i love your layout!!! Great take on the Aug Helmar sketch challenge and I love all the dimension you added. I think my fav part is how you incorporated the tiny type letters in your journaling to make smile stand out. 😀

Leave a Reply

