08.01.2011

Heartsong Designs challenge this week is monotone. So I followed along with a few other challenge blogs to come up with a sketch and design.

Skipping Stones Designs has a great sketch #86… which I used. The Play Date Cafe has a great color scheme in challenge #92. And last, but certainly not least… “the long and short of it.” Hosted by Cas-ual Fridays challenge #13!

Image used: Ice Cream. I colored this image in PhotoShop, added the parentheses and sentiment.

Today hubby and I celebrate 5 years of wedded bliss! 😉 I wanted to make something for myself that reminded me of how we got to this small milestone. Patience. (Among several other things like loyaltytrusthonesty, love and communication.) It certainly hasn’t been easy, especially since we have three young children and little to no relief. We do however, have an amazing babysitter whom I absolutely adore. Though it can get a little expensive having to pay for a sitter on top of “date night.” Being 1,250+ miles away from ‘family’ is a blessing, so I’ll gladly pay a sitter, or have date night at home. Being creative makes date nights at home less of a challenge!

So, I painted a piece of chipboard with Gesso. Then I used Lindy’s Stamp Gang Jamaican Jungle starburst color shots to create a background. I mixed the powder with a little bit of water, and filled the rest with rubbing alcohol to make it thick, and bright. Perfect for painting with! (But smelly, fair warning.) I used Delphinium Turquoise spray to add the blue.

I used my Copics to outline the letters. Then I drenched each letter with as much color as possible without making a mess! Then, to create a pattern within each letter I used a paper towel to soak up the excess. I gently pressed on the paper towel to ensure the pattern would transfer. And viola!

And if you didn’t know, Pixie Dust Studio has a new release!! Here’s a sneak peek! It’s set to be released on the 4th… you’re gonna love it… it’s sure to keep you nice and cool… hint, hint… 😉

Happy Monday my friends!!

18 thoughts on “08.01.2011

  1. Happy 5th anniversary, Jessica! I so hear you on the expense of date nights and a sitter. Your card is beautiful! LOVE how the simplicity of your design really makes those colors shine! Thank you so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  2. First Congrats on your first Five Years!! I love the pinks and the sentiment printed over the cone!! Great Anniversary card…patience is one of the important virtues in a marriage 😉

  3. Sa-weeet card! Love the ice cream in brackets, fab design 🙂 Thanks for playing this week at CAS-ual Fridays 🙂

  4. Happy belated anniversary, Jessica! You are so right, patience is key in marriage. Love the beautiful sign you made to commemorate that. Your Heart Song card is so fun — I especially like how you added the parentheses and the greeting right over the image!

Leave a Reply

