Scrap Tiffany: Cupcakes

This challenge couldn’t have come at a better time.

My sister turns 19 today. I remember when I turned 19… I was working at the mall, and made friends with a group of people who also worked at the mall. We referred to ourselves as “mall rats.” We often traveled the 20-30 minute drive to Windsor twice a week to eat, drink and be merry. In Canada the legal drinking age is 19. When my sister, Jacki, turned 19 I flew home and surprised her for her birthday. A friend and I took her to Canada and decided to get tattoos.

Today, Jillian, is 19 and will go to Canada with her boyfriend and Jacki. I’m really disappointed that I can’t be there to take her, it meant so much to me.

Anyways, my “mall rat” friends and I would frequent “Aardvarks.” It’s a blues bar, they have live bands on the weekends, and awesome bartenders. Two in particular I was very fond of. When I went back there two (almost three) years ago… I was told that they were operating under new management and that my “member card” wasn’t valid anymore! My heart was broken.

Why cupcakes are specific to Canada… well, every year, I traveled to Canada to celebrate my birthday, holidays, and New Years! The “beer bitches” (as we called them- Mike and Jerry) were our friends. We were comfortable at Aardvarks.

So, I “hung” up my card this weekend… storing it safely in this Maya Road envelope. Decorated with Bella Blvd’s Sweet Celebrations cupcake paper.

And yes… my member number was 867… go on… sing the rest!! FIVE THREE OH NI-E-INE!!

As always, you can click the pictures to make them bigger! Hope everyone had a fantastic Easter!

4 thoughts on “Scrap Tiffany: Cupcakes

  1. Such a cute project – such a lovely story – hope Jillian had a fab birthday x (All Js! Does that get confusing? It’s bad enough with me and The Doc both being Ms, we made sure The Kids had different initials!)

Leave a Reply

