ScrapTiffany Blog Hop

This weekend, ScrapTiffany is having a blog hop! So if you’re just starting on my page, be sure to visit ScrapTiffany to start at the beginning!

I wanted to do something shabby chic. I knew I wanted to make a banner using fabrics, so I wanted to make something universal. Something that can be used for several different occasions.

I picked up a clear glass plate, plain white picture frame, and appetizer plate at Target. Along with mini vases. I covered the plate with PPA (Perfect Paper Adhesive), wet the paper, and laid it on the plate.

For the banner I used studio cloth, sold at US Art Quest. I picked up some orange and white polka dot fabric at JoAnns. It’s a really nice thin fabric- very easy to sew. (Though I don’t do it well!) I attached each pennant to bias tape, allowing my banner to become one piece.

I used some wire from US Art Quest to attach a bead to each pennant. Strings of beads were purchased at Hobby Lobby. They come in a set of nine, and are absolutely beautiful! They are the size of a quarter and have a hole straight down the center.

I used some letters from Rusty Pickle. I painted them with Making Memories acrylic paint to match the papers. Then I used Ultra Thick Embossing Enamel to coat the letters and make them pretty and shiny!

I used my Slice to cut some butterflies, and attached them with Glossy Accents to the bias tape.

I hope you enjoyed my projects!

Now hop on over to Joy of Obsessed With Scrapbooking!

Paper line used: Making Memories, Flea Market (That line is exclusive to Target.)

115 thoughts on “ScrapTiffany Blog Hop

  1. Really cute banner–I should make one for my daughter’s birthday. She’s probably the only one who would appreciate it!

  2. Your banner is super cute and could definitely be used for lots of different celebtrations. Loving these blog hops, I’m finding so many more talented ladies that are so generous with sharing their talents and blog candy too.

  3. LOVE the banner. That is sooo adorable!! I can’t wait to learn how to sew. Thats my next mission!! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the great project!

  4. what quick projects using minimal cost, time and materials but no one would ever guess, they would appreciate the effort! now the banner looks beyond my skill level but i love the banner especially the beads! i visited the earthart international site! how beautiful the creations! anything dragonfly especiallt that magnet! love it all, have bookmarked for future viewing, thanks for sharing!

  5. Love love love this banner, I will definitely be doing one of these for my daughters upcoming birthday party, its Alice in Wonderland themed, so I am already coming up with some great ideas to make this banner themed to fit. I love that its fabric, so I can hang it in her bedroom after. Thanks for sharing this, its just awesome!

  6. Love the versatility of this banner! It’s nice to not have to store something away and only use it once a year. I like how you used UTEE to make the letters shiny. And the sewing is awesome!

  7. I love the banner! I love the hanging beads & the butterflys on top. Great ideas & detail they are absolutely beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  8. I love the banner! The bead you put on the bottom are just so cute. Love how you painted the letter to match. Love the plates, picture frame and that little vase is just to adorable! You have some wonderful creations! Love them all!!!! πŸ™‚

  9. What a lovely banner. I am going to remember this one as I am helping with our Grade 8 grade in our small town. Thanks!

  10. I love the banner idea. Will be trying this concept for the next celebration. Thanks for sharing your projects. Oh.. I like the plate too… did you modpodge paper on the back? Very cute.

  11. LOVE the banner….and the colors you chose…..and didn’t even know that you could do that with a plate….thanks so much

  12. Your banner is my favorite project…but I love all your ideas! I also visited EarthArtInternational.com… wow, what great stuff… I loved everything, but the coloring books really caught my eye!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  13. You may not sew well (according to you) but you did a bang up job on that banner and the plate is awesome! I have some chargers I’ve been meaning to do that with. They are so versatile as is tho….

Leave a Reply

