.printed digital.

 

My mother in law’s birthday is November 4th. I’ve been trying to figure out something, quick and easy to give her. She likes getting photos, as a paper crafter I have a hard time giving JUST photos.

I have no idea how I found The Shabby Shoppe, but I’m glad I did!! I found and purchased a “piece-a-cake” badge album called Sandbox. It was perfect for our recent trip to Corpus Christi.

I wanted to add some cardstock to make the pages sturdy, so I picked two coordinating colors and used them as a mat. I tied some ribbon on each of the rings and hand wrote in the journaling spots, for a personal touch. If I would have had all the materials necessary to complete the project (badges and correct paper to print on) it would have taken 30 minutes at most. Quick, easy, done.

A few tips to help you along the way:

  • Knowing what photos you have and want to use makes picking a digital kit MUCH easier.
  • You can use the kit even if you don’t have Photoshop. You’ll just have to do some precision cutting.
  • I have an Epson Artisan 800. I have tried printing on normal cardstock or bright white paper and it doesn’t always turn out as beautiful as it does when I use Epson paper. Of course it’s a little more expensive, I ONLY use it when printing something I want to look amazing!
  • Badges, I spent 20 minutes looking at all the badges Staples offers. I ended up purchasing a box of Avery– 50 for apx $35. However, there isn’t anything “engraved” into the back of the badge. (*You can see that in the two page photo above.*) That was something I wanted to avoid, having the makers logo on the back of each page.

Please let me know if you’re interested in making something similar and need some badges! I have 44 left!

Also, if you’re looking for inexpensive, quick and easy gifts, check out my $10.00 magnet kit and my $12.00 traveler.

One thought on “.printed digital.

  1. You know I love this 🙂 Didn’t realise the date of your mother-in-law’s birthday till now though – funny coincidence – that’s my father-in-law’s birthday!!

    Ooh, spare badges? I’d be up for a few please – I now want to do a project like this!! You know what a copy cat I am… 😉

Leave a Reply

